About Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier has written nineteen novels for adults and young adults as well as a collection of short fiction. Her works of historical fantasy have been published around the world, and have won numerous awards. Juliet's new novel, Tower of Thorns, will be published in October/November 2015. Tower of Thorns is the second book in the Blackthorn & Grim series of historical fantasy/mysteries for adult readers. The first Blackthorn & Grim novel, Dreamer's Pool, is available from Roc US and Pan Macmillan Australia.

Recent Posts by this author:

  • A Dog’s Tale
  • The Evolution of an Author Website
  • On Deadlines and the Muse
  • Deadline Craziness
  • History and Magic
  • More on Voice and Structure
  • Judging Short Fiction
  • Presenting to School Students: top tips
  • Dealing with Setbacks
  • Mentoring: Two-way Learning
  • Voice and Structure: A Planner’s Perspective
  • Letting your characters go

  • On Deadlines and the Muse

    Whew! The finished manuscript of my new novel, Tower of Thorns, went off to the publisher by the (extended) deadline of Jan 27. It’s out of sight, if not out of mind, for the next month or so while my editor writes her report. If you’ve been following my posts, you’ll know that my time […]

    History and Magic

    Recently I attended the Historical Novelists Association annual conference, this year held in London. It was a great weekend with plenty of lively and informative sessions, though slightly more aimed at the aspiring writer than I’d expected. Highlights for me were a workshop on Battle Tactics and a panel entitled Confronting Historical Fact with the […]

    More on Voice and Structure

    I posted some time ago about the challenges of voice and structure in my (then) work in progress, a novel called Dreamer’s Pool, first instalment of the Blackthorn & Grim series,  which is a historical fantasy/mystery series for adult readers. At that point I was wrestling with the self-imposed limitations of the format – three […]

    Judging Short Fiction

    I earn my living writing longish stories – my historical fantasy novels for adults usually come in at around 150,000 words. Perhaps because I’ve always loved traditional storytelling, including myths, legends and sagas, I do tend to think big, and it sits most comfortably with me to write fiction in the long form. I write […]

    Presenting to School Students: top tips

    How do you feel about public speaking? Author talks? Writing workshops? If, like me, you’re the introverted kind of writer, more comfortable in the world of the imagination than out on centre stage, that part of the job can be as much ordeal as opportunity. But we all know how necessary those public appearances are, […]

    Dealing with Setbacks

    In these days of relentless self-promotion, we authors generally avoid sharing our bad news. Our posts and tweets, our websites and interviews emphasise the positive: a publishing deal, an interesting writers’ festival, a new creative partnership. Sometimes  we talk about fighting our way through adversity to achieve a goal. But only rarely do we feature […]

    Mentoring: Two-way Learning

    Being a full-time writer means not only working every day on my novel, but also performing the multiplicity of tasks that go with the profession: book-keeping, research, editing, publicity and so on. As an established novelist, I also get asked to present workshops, participate in writers’ festivals, judge competitions and give talks in schools. The […]

    Voice and Structure: A Planner’s Perspective

    I’m currently working on a novel called Dreamer’s Wood, first installment in the Blackthorn & Grim series, and my deadline is getting uncomfortably close. Indeed, the story is so much in my head at present that I really had no choice but to write about it for this month’s post. Dreamer’s Wood, a historical fantasy/mystery […]