About Allison Winn Scotch

Allison Winn Scotch is the author of four novels: The One That I Want, Time of My Life, and The Department of Lost and Found, and The Song Remains the Same. She lives in Los Angeles with her family, where she is at work on her new projects.

Recent Posts by this author:

  • Introducing Myself
  • It Doesn’t Have to be Either/Or
  • But Is This a Book?
  • Plan B: Or What to Do When Things Go Wrong
  • A Brave New World: Let’s Do This
  • Who Is On Your Team?
  • The New Era of Self-Publishing
  • On Writing Without Expectation
  • The Waiting Game
  • Fish or Cut Bait
  • Copy Cat
  • I Dreamed A Dream

  • Introducing Myself

    Hi. I’m Allison. I’m introducing myself. I’m a writer. It’s an odd choice for the title of this blog and the intro because, well, I’ve been writing here for a while, and a few of you may know me. Also because this is actually my final post here on Writer Unboxed. But it’s also not so […]

    It Doesn’t Have to be Either/Or

    I was sitting at my desk last Monday, working on my new manuscript (okay, kind-of working, kind-of surfing the internet) when Tweetdeck alerted me to the fact that Random House was offering my second novel, Time of My Life, at a promotional price of $1.99. I was as surprised as I was elated: namely, very. Surprised […]

    But Is This a Book?

    I recently got the writing itch again, the one where characters start to pop up in my brain uninvited, where themes and plots replace sleep, where my fingers felt antsy and wanted to tap at the keyboard once more. It had been about nine months since I’d wrapped The Theory of Opposites, and well, I […]

    Plan B: Or What to Do When Things Go Wrong

    So it couldn’t have been more fitting that this month at WU, we’re chatting about just what the heck to do when the publishing industry throws you a curveball. Because if you’ve read any of my past posts here, you know that I’ve been thrown a few curveballs myself as of late. Indeed, the last […]

    A Brave New World: Let’s Do This

    Many, many moons ago, I wrote a post on Writer Unboxed, contemplating the pros and cons of going indie with my next book. I wasn’t just contemplating it online, I was contemplating it with my agent, with my husband, with myself. As someone who had come up in the “traditional” system – I started at […]

    Who Is On Your Team?

    Everyone always says that writing is a solitary endeavor, but I’m here to tell you that this notion couldn’t be more wrong: in fact, the success of a writer is often due to a supportive group of surrounding players.  Your name may be on the spine of the book, but so many other people come […]

    The New Era of Self-Publishing

    Is everyone sick of talking about the piece in the New York Times on David Mamet and his decision to self-publish? I hope not, because I’m dying to talk about it. So I’m going to…I hope you’re not already bored. If you haven’t read it, you should, especially if you’re a traditionally published author, but […]

    On Writing Without Expectation

    I have finally started a new book. Phew. It took me over two years to get up the gumption to do so. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been sitting around staring off into space for the past two years, but I haven’t had the stomach (or heart) to start a new novel. I’ve used […]

    The Waiting Game

    One of the most difficult – and most unexpectedly difficult – aspects of being a writer is the waiting game. It doesn’t matter if you’ve published four books, as I have, or are querying your first: there will always and inevitably be a lag time, sometimes a very long lag time, between when you want […]

    Fish or Cut Bait

    Question of the day: My debut novel did okay, not great, and now my publisher is being slightly less than enthusiastic about my follow-up. They aren’t excited about the book I’m working on, even though I love it, and have encouraged me to try to write something different. I’m torn – on one hand, I […]

    Copy Cat

    Confession: I was shoulder-deep into the manuscript revision of my fourth book, which has a deadline of, oh, one week from now, when I realized I had to write this blog post. And for the life of me, I could NOT come up with something to discuss. That tends to happen when I fully immerse […]

    I Dreamed A Dream

    So my new book, The One That I Want, has been out in the world for a month now, and just like a new parent who has realized that it’s time to take a night or two away from her little one, I’ve started to move on from the hovering, the worrying, the frantic roller-coaster […]